Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > North America > Bahamas

Bahamas Political System

Since 1973, the Bahamas has been an independent, parliamentary-democratic unitary state within the British Commonwealth. The British Queen is the head of state and is represented by a Governor General. This is appointed on the suggestion of the Prime Minister and plays no independent political role. The supreme executive power lies with the government and the prime minister, who is at the same time responsible for the House of Assembly, which is elected by Parliament, which has 40 members. The House of Assembly is elected for five years, but the government can print new elections at any time. Parliament also includes a politically less important 16-member senate, who is appointed by the Governor-General on a proposal from the Prime Minister and the opposition leader.

Government and Politics of Bahamas

The Bahamas has a relatively stable democracy dominated by two parties, the Free National Movement (FNM) and the Progressive Liberal Party (PLP). Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of BS and its meanings of Bahamas. FNM is dominated by European-born, while PLP is characterized by citizens of African background. The country has the highest per capita income in the Caribbean and a relatively well-developed welfare state; economic policy is market oriented. Stability is threatened by corruption and the dominant unofficial economy; The Bahamas has been and is a major transit country for drugs and illegal immigration from Latin America to the United States.

Administratively, the Bahamas is divided into 21 districts.


The courts are independent and include magistrates' courts, the Supreme Court, an appeals court and, ultimately, the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council. All courts judge in criminal cases as well as in civil cases. The legislation is based on British common law.

Weights and Measures

British measuring and weight units are in use.

Bahamas defense

The Bahamas defense force is a maritime force with patrol and surveillance tasks in the special waters of the archipelago. The Defense Force has 21 patrol vessels, three light aircraft for transport and surveillance, one aid vessel, and a staff of 1300 active personnel (2018, IISS)

Guyana has a naval base at New Providence.

Other Countries in North America

a2z Government Copyright 2009 - 2020 All Rights Reserved