Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Europe > Liechtenstein

Liechtenstein's Political System

Liechtenstein was, after the Constitution of 1921, a constitutional monarchy and parliamentary democracy, but after a referendum and constitutional amendment in 2003, the head of state, the prince, gained power. He can personally appoint the government and judges, as well as dissolve the National Assembly.

Government and Politics of Liechtenstein

The country day is elected for four years and has 25 members. As in neighboring Switzerland, referendums and popular initiatives play a major role. The women were only granted national voting rights after a referendum in 1984. At municipal level, female voting rights were granted in Vaduz in 1976, but not until 1986 had all municipalities introduced it.


Administratively, the country is divided into 11 municipalities, all with elected councils. Liechtenstein has been a member of the Customs Union with Switzerland since 1924 (somewhat influenced by the EEA, which is outside Switzerland) and uses the Swiss currency (Swiss franc) and customs and postal administration. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of LS and its meanings of Liechtenstein.


The judiciary is divided into civil and criminal courts. Of the first, there is a land court as a court of first instance and a court of law as a second court. Of the others, there is a district court, an assistant court and a criminal court as a court of first instance and a court of law as a second court. On the third court level there is a Supreme Court. In addition, there is an administrative appeal and a state law (for the protection of public law).

Other Countries in Europe

a2z Government Copyright 2009 - 2020 All Rights Reserved