Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Europe > Malta

Malta's Political System

Following the 1974 Constitution, Malta is a parliamentary-democratic and unified state republic. The head of state is a president, elected for five years by the House of Representatives. The president has primarily formal duties. Executive power has been added to the government, which in turn is based on and is responsible to the House of Representatives elected. The house is elected in general elections for five years, based on ratio choices. It has at least 65 seats; the party with the most votes is given additional mandates to secure a majority.

Government and Politics of Malta

Malta is divided into six administrative units, but they are centrally managed. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of MT and its meanings of Malta.


Maltese civil law is based on Roman law, while public law is heavily influenced by British law. The country has a Constitutional Court, a Court of Appeal, a Criminal Court of Appeal, a Civil and Criminal Court, Magistrate Courts, a Youth Court and Conciliation Council. The head of the Constitutional Court and the Court of Appeals is the country's Supreme Court Justice.

Malta's defense

The military service in Malta is voluntary. The total personnel force is 1950 active personnel, with a reserve of 180 personnel (2018, IISS). The military is easily equipped.

Army, navy and air defense are not separate arms branches, but components of a common force. The air component has three maritime patrol aircraft, two light transport aircraft, three training aircraft and six helicopters. The sea component has eight patrol vessels and two auxiliary vessels.

Other Countries in Europe

a2z Government Copyright 2009 - 2020 All Rights Reserved