Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Europe > Monaco

Monaco Politics

State and politics

Monaco is a hereditary, constitutional principle, since 2002 also a female throne. The executive is exercised by the prince. The government, which consists of a prime minister and ministers, is responsible to the prince. The legislative power is exercised by the prince and the National Council, which has 24 members, elected for five years in general elections. Furthermore, there is a municipal council for the entire country with 15 members, elected for four years.

Government and Politics of Monaco

Monaco lacks actual political parties, but various candidate lists compete in the general elections. In 2003, the Union for Monaco (UPM) won 21 seats in the National Council, while the former majority list of the National Democratic Union (UND) received three seats.

By agreement, Monaco is heavily dependent on France, both politically and in terms of supply. France forced Monaco in 1963 to apply French tax rules to most French citizens in the country. Monaco is one of the original participating states in the European Security and Cooperation Conference (ESC), now the OSCE, and was elected in 1993 in the UN. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of MC and its meanings of Monaco.


The judicial organization consists mainly of peace judges, a general court, a court of appeal and a supreme court. Monaco has its own civil law, commercial law, civil law, criminal law and criminal law, but these are strongly influenced by French law. The death penalty was abolished in 1962; the last execution took place in 1847.

Heads of State

Princes (since 1856)

1856-89 Karl III
1889-1922 Albert I
1922-49 Louis II
1949-2005 Rainier III
2005- Albert II
Other Countries in Europe

a2z Government Copyright 2009 - 2020 All Rights Reserved