Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > North America > Saint Lucia

Saint Lucia Politics

State and politics


Saint Lucia is a parliamentary democracy and member of the Commonwealth. The head of state is the British monarch, represented in the country by a general governor. Parliament consists of two chambers in the British pattern: the lower house has 17 members, elected in one-man constituencies for up to five years. In cases where a President is not elected, Parliament will receive a total of 18 members. The upper house has eleven senators, who are appointed for five years by the Governor-General on the proposal of the Prime Minister and the leader of the opposition.

Government and Politics of Saint Lucia


Political life is dominated by the conservative United Workers' Party (UWP) and the Social Democratic Saint Lucia Labor Party (SLP). In the May 1997 elections, SLP won a clear victory and won 16 of the 17 seats in the House of Commons. After 15 years in opposition, SLP was able to form government again. Kenny Anthony (born 1951) was named Prime Minister. In 2006, the UWP won big in the elections and regained power. Party leader John Compton (1925–2007) again became prime minister and head of government. Compton was Saint Lucia's leading politician from 1964 until independence in 1979, when he became the country's first prime minister, a post he also held in 1982-96. He passed away in September 2007 and was succeeded by Stephenson King (born 1958).

SLP and Kenny Anthony regained government power in the 2011 election but lost it to the UWP in 2016, when Allen Chastanet (born probably 1961) became new prime minister. UWP was then given eleven of the 17 electable seats. Of the total 18 MEPs, three (17 percent) were women, including the President. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of ST and its meanings of St. Lucia.


The legal system is a unique blend of pre-revolutionary French law and later imported English law. In 1879, the island got its own civil code, the Civil Code, modeled on the 1866 civil law in Quebec as a model; it constitutes a codification of pre-revolutionary Parisian custom (Coutume de Paris). The judiciary consists of Magistrates' Courts, the High Court and the Court of Appeal of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court, with the option of appeal to the Privy Council in London. The death penalty can be punished for some serious crimes.

Other Countries in North America

a2z Government Copyright 2009 - 2020 All Rights Reserved