Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Africa > Sao Tome and Principe

São Tomé and Principe's Political System

Constitution and political system

After the 1990 Constitution, São Tomé and Príncipe are a democratic and unified state republic. In 1994, however, the country took a step in the federal direction when Príncipe gained considerable autonomy, and a regional assembly and government was established on the island. The country's head of state is a president, elected in the general election for five years with the possibility of one re-election. He has somewhat less authority than is usual in presidential countries. Legislative authority has been added to a national assembly with 55 elected members, elected in the general election for four years. The government, chaired by a prime minister, is nominated by the assembly and appointed by the president. The previous liberation movement MLSTP-PSD is the largest party and was the only allowable 1972-90.

Government and Politics of Sao Tome and Principe Business

The country of Sao Tome and Principe is divided into seven districts. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of ST and its meanings of Sao Tome and Principe.

The judiciary

The judiciary includes a Supreme Court and a Court of First Instance. The legislation is based on Portuguese examples.

Other Countries in Africa

a2z Government Copyright 2009 - 2020 All Rights Reserved