Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Africa > Seychelles

Seychelles Political System

Constitution and political system

Following the 1993 constitution, the Seychelles are a unified state republic. The head of state, the president, is elected in the general election for five years and can be re-elected twice. He appoints and heads the government himself and is a military commander. Legislative power has been added to the National Assembly, since 1996 consisting of 34 members; 25 are selected from individual circles and 9 according to a proportional distribution. The National Assembly is elected for five years. The government is dominated by the party SPPF, which has obtained a pure majority in all elections.

Government and Politics of Seychelles

There are 23 districts in Seychelles. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of SC and its meanings of Seychelles.


There are three courts: the Court of Appeal, the Supreme Court and the Magistrate's Courts. A constitutional court is part of the Supreme Court. There are separate courts for labor and tenancy cases. The judges are appointed by the president.

Other Countries in Africa

a2z Government Copyright 2009 - 2020 All Rights Reserved