Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > South America

South America

List of South American countries and their capitals

Countries Capital Continent
Argentina Buenos Aires South America
Bolivia La Paz South America
Brazil Brasilia South America
Chile Santiago South America
Colombia Bogota South America
Ecuador Quito South America
Guyana Georgetown South America
French Guiana* Cayenne South America
Paraguay Asunción South America
Peru lime South America
Suriname Paramaribo South America
Uruguay Montevideo South America
Venezuela Caracas South America

* French Guiana: Overseas territory belonging to France. Source:

More developed and less developed countries in South America

Together, the countries of South America join great forces in the world economic scenario. The Brazil has the largest economies in this subcontinent, as well as being the largest country in area. Brazilian GDP is approximately US $ 3.21 trillion, corresponding to the largest economy in Latin America as well.

The Brazil is still not a developed country, but its economy is developing, and some scholars believe that in a few years, that will debut in the ranking of the five largest economies in the world. The country exports several products, being one of the largest producers of soy, coffee, automobiles, ethanol, iron ore, among others.

However, South America also has some undeveloped nations. The poorest country in this subcontinent is Bolivia, based on GDP per capita. The Bolivia is in development, but faces many obstacles, whether in social aspects, either with low human development indices. More than half of its population lives in poverty.

Countries in South America
  1. Argentina
  2. Bolivia
  3. Brazil
  4. Chile
  5. Colombia
  6. Ecuador
  7. Guyana
  8. Paraguay
  9. Peru
  10. Suriname
  11. Uruguay
  12. Venezuela

a2z Government Copyright 2009 - 2020 All Rights Reserved