Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > North America > Trinidad and Tobago

Trinidad and Tobago Politics

State and politics

Trinidad and Tobago became a republic in 1976, replacing the former governor with a president who is elected for a five-year term by an Electoral College from Trinidad and Tobago's two-chamber parliament. This consists of a Senate with 31 members and a House of Representatives with 36 members. The Senate is appointed by the President, and the House of Representatives is elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term. The voting age is 18 years. Tobago has since 1980 shown some self-government and its own minimal parliament.

Government and Politics of Trinidad and Tobago

Trinidad and Tobago's large oil revenues, together with relatively stable policies, have given the country a significant role in Caribbean cooperation.

Leading party is the People's National Movement, PNM ('People's National Movement') and largest opposition party is the United National Congress, UNC. The two main parties align closely with Trinidad and Tobago's ethnic composition; PNM is the African American Party, the UNC Indians Party. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of TNT and its meanings of Trinidad and Tobago.


The legal system in Trinidad and Tobago is based on English law in combination with domestic legislation and local precedents. The main courts are the High Court and the Court of Appeal, with some options to appeal to the Privy Council in London. The death penalty can be punished for some serious crimes.

Heads of State


1976-87 Ellis Clarke
1987-97 Noor Hassanali
1997-2003 Arthur Robinson
2003-13 George Maxwell Richards
2014-18 Anthony Carmona
2018- Paula-Mae Weekes
Other Countries in North America

a2z Government Copyright 2009 - 2020 All Rights Reserved