Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Europe > Vatican City

Vatican City Politics

State and politics

The Vatican City is a sovereign and internationally recognized state. The Pope is the head of state and at the same time bishop of Rome as well as the head of the Catholic Church. The papal office, the Holy See (Latin Seʹdes saʹncta), based in the Vatican City, has diplomatic representatives (nunts and pronunts) in more than 120 countries. These, like the Vatican's foreign policy, are led by a secretary of state. It is also at the Holy See that other countries, including Sweden, have envoys. In daily speech, the term Vatican is used to denote both the state and the "chair".

Government and Politics of Vatican City

The Vatican City is ruled by the Pope, who is elected for life by the Conclave. This consists of the cardinals in the world who are under 80, around 120 people. The Pope appoints a papal commission headed by a president who oversees the administration of the Vatican. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of VT and its meanings of Vatican. Despite its smallness, the Vatican State plays a significant political role in its role as the central leader of the worldwide Catholic Church. The central chair of the Holy See is the Pope with the Holy Cardinal College at his side. The Cardinals are appointed for life by the Pope. The Roman Catholic Church's highest administrative leadership, the Curia, is made up of the Cardinals in Rome. They also function as the Pope's court.

The Vatican State Bank, IOR (Italian Istituto per le Opere di Religione), is led by high priests. The capital is estimated at approximately $ 4 billion (1995). The bank manages investments in the world and also administers the "Petersen voltage", ie. voluntary contributions from Catholics around the world.


The most important sources of law in the Vatican City are Codex juris canonici and various statutes issued by the Pope or after the Pope's authorization. Italian law is a subsidiary (second-hand) source of law. The members of the Vatican City Courts, including a Court of Appeal, Sacra Romana Rota, are appointed by the Pope. The death penalty was abolished in 1969.

Other Countries in Europe

a2z Government Copyright 2009 - 2020 All Rights Reserved