Croatia Government and Politics

Following the Constitution of 1990, Croatia is a unified state, presidential republic. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of HR and its meanings of Croatia. The head of state and the true leader of the country, the president, are elected in the general election for five years. The president can be re-elected once. He appoints and dismisses the prime minister and other members of the government, is a military commander and can issue exceptions decrees which have the status of law. The Prime Minister and the Government are formally responsible both to the President and the National Assembly, in practice mostly to the President.

According to, the Legislative Assembly (Sabor) consists of the House of Representatives and the District House. The House of Representatives (Zastupnički judgment) is the actual legislative assembly. It is elected in general elections for four years, approx. half by ratio choice, the rest by majority choice. In addition to the 124 elected in this way, national minorities that make up less than eight percent of the population have the right to elect up to five representatives, and those constituting more than eight percent, ie the Serbs, have the right to choose a proportionate number of representatives.. The House of Representatives has a maximum of 160 seats; after the 2003 elections, there are 152 seats.

The district house, which primarily has an advisory role, consists of up to 68 representatives: From each of the 20 administrative districts (zupanije) and from the capital Zagreb, three members are elected by majority vote. In addition, the President may appoint up to five representatives. Administratively, Croatia is divided into the 20 districts and the capital and these again into municipalities. They are governed by elected counsel, but have limited self-government. In two special districts, called Kotari, the Serbs have a majority and a further autonomy.


The Supreme Court is the supreme court. It is also a Constitutional Court. The judges of these courts are appointed for eight years at a time by the Republic’s Legal Council, which is appointed by the National Assembly.

List of Presidents in Croatia after 1990

Croatia is a democratic and parliamentary republic with the president as head of state. The president is elected in the general election for five years and can be re-elected once. Below is an overview of presidents in Croatia since 1990.

Period President
1990-1999 Franjo Tudjman
1999-2000 Vlatko Pavletić
2000-2010 Support Mesić
2010-2015 Ivo Josipović
2015- Kolinda Grabar-Kitarović

List of prime ministers in Croatia after 1990

Croatia is a democratic and parliamentary republic with the president as head of state. The President appoints the Prime Minister. Below is an overview of Croatia’s prime ministers after independence in 1990.

Period Prime minister
1990 Support Mesić
1990-1991 Josip Manolić
1991-1992 Franjo Gregurić
1992-1993 Hrvoje Sarinić
1993-1995 Nikica Valentić
1995-2000 Zlatko Matesa
2000-2003 Ivica Račan
2003-2009 Ivo Sanader
2009-2011 Jadranka Kosor
2011-2016 Zoran Milanović
2016 Tihomir Orešković
2016- Andrej Plenković

Croatia Head of Government

You may also like...