Grenada Government and Politics

State and politics

Grenada Country Flag

Reference: Grenada Flag Meaning

According to, Grenada is an independent state within the Commonwealth. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of GD and its meanings of Grenada. The British monarch is head of state and is represented on the spot by a general governor. Parliament consists of a Senate with 13 members appointed by the Governor-General and a legislative House of Representatives with 15 elected members. General elections are held every five years and the government is accountable to Parliament.

Since the beginning of the 1990s, both center-oriented New National Party (NNP) and National Democratic Congress (NDC) have been taking turns to form government. In the 2008 election, NDC won a majority of the votes cast and got 11 out of 15 seats in the House of Representatives, while NNP took the remaining 4 seats. NDC leader Tillman Thomas became government leader. The main reasons for the NNP’s election loss were popular dissatisfaction with the government’s unsuccessful attempts to curb rising inflation and poorly managed reconstruction work after Hurricane Ivan in 2004.

The 2013 parliamentary election meant a landslide victory for the opposition party NNP, which won all seats in the House of Representatives. New head of government became former Prime Minister Keith Mitchell. As explanations for the NNP’s election victory, dissatisfaction with the economic development since 2008 and internal disputes within NDC were highlighted. See also History.


The legal basis of the legal order is considered English law as it appeared in 1783. It has been amended and supplemented by national law, but this too usually follows the English legal development. The death penalty remains in the penal code but is de facto abolished in 1978.

Grenada Head of Government

You may also like...