Nauru Government and Politics

State and politics

According to, the legislative power of Nauru is held by a parliament with 19 members and a term of office of 3 years. It appoints a president, who is also the head of government. Since 1987 there has been a political party, the Democratic Party of Nauru, in addition to various tribal organizations. However, the policy has revolved around individual politicians. When Hammer DeRoburt, Nauru’s supreme chieftain who dominated politics since 1968, was deposed as president because of power, his main rival, Bernard Dowiyogo, was appointed as a successor and re-elected in November 1992. characterized by instability.

Former Australia Defense Force, which manages Naurus’ foreign and defense relations, has been required for damages for environmental damage from the income-generating phosphate mining. At the same time, Nauru has become more dependent on financial support from Australia, as income from phosphate mining has decreased as assets decline. Nauru is a member of some of the UN sub-bodies (not the UN) and a special member of the Commonwealth. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of NA and its meanings of Nauru.


The highest court in Nauru is the Supreme Court. The legal order is based on the reception of English law, but inheritance law and the right to land are determined in accordance with local customary law. The death penalty remained in the legislation until 2016, but was de facto considered abolished since the country became independent in 1968.

Heads of State


1968-76 Hammer DeRoburt
1976-78 Bernard Dowiyogo
1978-89 Hammer DeRoburt
1989-95 Bernard Dowiyogo
1995-97 Lagumot Harris
1997-98 Kinza Clodumar
1998-99 Bernard Dowiyogo
1999-2000 Rene Harris
2000-01 Bernard Dowiyogo
2001-03 Rene Harris
2003-03 Bernard Dowiyogo
2003-03 Then Gioura
2003-03 Ludwig Scotty
2003-04 Rene Harris
2004-07 Ludwig Scotty
2007-11 Marcus Stephen
2011-13 Sprent Dabwido
2013-19 Baron Waqa
2019- Lionel Aingimea

Nauru Head of Government

You may also like...