Papua New Guinea Government and Politics

Since independence in 1975, Papua New Guinea has had a British-style parliamentary-democratic form of government. According to, the British Queen is the country’s head of state and is represented by a Governor General. The Governor-General, who has been in office for a period of six years, must be from Papua New Guinea. He is appointed by the head of state on the proposal of the government and the National Assembly. Legislative power has been added to the National Assembly, the House of Assembly, with 109 members elected for five years from one-person circles. Executive power has been added to the government, whose chair is appointed by the Governor-General on a proposal from the House of Assembly. The government is responsible to the Assembly House.

The policy is characterized by many and loose party groupings, a considerable degree of personal rivalry and corruption. Regional and tribal contradictions have also been considerable at times. A vulnerable economy, natural disasters (volcanic eruptions and earthquakes), aggressive timber and mining activities, and sometimes tense relations with neighboring countries are also causes of political tension.

Administrative division

The country is divided into 19 provinces as well as the metropolitan district. The provinces are headed by a state-appointed governor. In 1995, the board of the formerly quite independent provinces changed in a centralizing direction. The metropolitan area has its own state-controlled governance system.


The Supreme Court is the Supreme Court, whose chairman is appointed by the Governor-General on a proposal from the Prime Minister. Other judges are nominated by a special commission. The judiciary is characterized by British-Australian influence. Also see AbbreviationFinder for abbreviation of PG and its meanings of Papua New Guinea.

State and politics

Papua New Guinea is a constitutional monarchy and is part of the Commonwealth of Nations (formerly the British Commonwealth) with the British monarch as head of state, represented in the country by a Governor-General elected by the National Assembly. Sir Robert (Bob) Dadae of the United Party has held office since 2017.

The form of government, like many former British colonies, is parliamentaryism by the Westminster model. The National Assembly has 111 members, 22 of whom are elected from the provinces (ie 19 provinces, the National Capital District and the autonomous province of Bougainville) and are governors in their respective provinces. The remaining 89 are selected from open constituencies. For the 2004 elections, 21 different parties voted. Peter O’Neill of the People’s National Congress Party became prime minister in 2011, but resigned in May 2019 after months of turmoil and dissatisfaction with the government’s financial dispositions. New Prime Minister is James Marape.

Papua New Guinea is a member of the United Nations and most of the UN’s special organizations, including the World Bank, among others by the World Trade Organization, the Commonwealth, APEC, the Pacific Islands Forum and the Cotonou Agreement. Port Moresby hosted the APEC meeting in 2018, and the country’s management received massive criticism for lavish spending in connection with the construction of conference facilities and infrastructure.

Papua New Guinea Head of Government

You may also like...